Government of Saskatchewan
Quick Search:
Monday, March 30, 2015


Dave Wild has been appointed Chair of the Saskatchewan Securities


Also appointed today were Dale Hilmer, Bill Ready, Q.C., and Janice

Stratichuk. Vice-chair Art Wakabayashi was re-appointed to the commission.

"The knowledge and experience these individuals bring to the Commission

will benefit the people of Saskatchewan," Justice and Intergovernmental

Affairs Minister Chris Axworthy said. "I am certain they will each play an

important role in protecting investors and consumers in Saskatchewan."

Wild is currently the Superintendent of Pensions with the Pensions Benefits

Branch of Saskatchewan Justice. He will retain this role while serving as

chair. Wild was recently appointed to the national joint forum of pension,

securities and insurance regulators by the Canadian Association of Pension

Supervisory Authorities.

Wakabayashi had a distinguished career as a senior provincial and federal

civil servant. He was recently appointed to the Order of Canada and has

been elected Chancellor of the University of Regina.

Hillmer has extensive experience with the credit union sector in

Saskatchewan, and has served on the Board of Trustees of the Co-operative

Superannuation Pension Plan, the Saskatchewan Wheat Pool Pension Plan and

the Co-op Insurance Pension Plan.

Ready is a distinguished Saskatchewan lawyer with an extensive background

in securities law, and served for 27 years on the board of the Roy Nat

Fund. He is currently retired from active practice.

Stratichuk is a chartered accountant and former partner of Orr and Company

Chartered Accountants, with considerable experience in the oil and gas


Axworthy also thanked the outgoing commission, particularly Chairperson

Marcel de la Gorgendiere, Q.C., for their distinguished service. De la

Gorgendiere is retiring after 12 years on the commission.

The Saskatchewan Securities Commission protects investors by administering

The Securities Act, 1988, and regulating the investment industry in



For more information, contact:

Debi McEwen



Phone: (306) 787-6043
Icon  News Archives

Home/About Government/News Releases
© 2015 Government of Saskatchewan. All rights reserved.